2022 Minimum Wage Changes by State

No matter where a business is located, employers need to start by staying up to date with the minimum wage requirements of their state in order to maintain compliance.

State Minimum Wages for 2022

 

Alabama

The state of Alabama has no minimum wage, so employers must comply with the minimum wage requirements under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). As of January 1st, 2022 the federal minimum wage is $7.25.

 

Alaska 

Alaska’s minimum wage is $10.34 as of January 1st, 2022 based on the Consumer Price Index. There is no separate rate for tipped workers. 

Employers using a voluntary flexible work hour plan approved by the Alaska Department of Labor, who schedule employees for a 10-hour day, 40-hour workweek may be eligible for premium pay after 10 hours a day instead of after 8 hours.

The premium overtime pay requirement on either a daily or weekly basis is not applicable to employers with fewer than 4 employees.

 

Arizona 

Arizona’s minimum wage is $12.80 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. based on the Consumer Price Index. The minimum wage for tipped employees will remain at $9. 

 

Arkansas 

Arkansas minimum wage is $11.00 per hour as of January 1st, 2022, and applies to all employers with four or more employees. Otherwise, employers are subject to FLSA standards. 

 

California 

California minimum wage is $14.00 per hour for small employers as of January 1st, 2022. Small employers are considered employers with 25 employees or less. It will increase to $15.00 per hour on January 1st, 2023.

For employers with more than 25 employees, the minimum wage is $15.00 an hour as of January 1st, 2022. California is one of 7 states that does not allow businesses of any kind to pay a lesser tipped minimum wage rate. 

 

Colorado 

Colorado minimum wage is $12.56 as of January 1st, 2022. The tipped minimum wage is $9.54. 

 

Connecticut

Connecticut minimum wage is $13.00 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. It will increase to $14.00 per hour as of July 1st, 2022, and again to $15.00 per hour as of June 1st, 2023.

For restaurants and hotels specifically, any hours worked on a 7th consecutive day of work are considered overtime. 

 

Delaware

Deleware minimum wage is $10.50 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. As of January 1st, 2023 it will increase to $11.75 per hour, $13.25 per hour as of January 1st, 2024, and finally $15.00 per hour as of January 1st, 2025.

 

District of Columbia (D.C.)

The minimum wage for Washington D.C. is $15.20 per hour. It is set for an un-confirmed increase on July 1st, 2022.

 

Florida

Florida minimum wage is still $10.00 per hour as of September 30th, 2021. Future updates will occur each year on September 30th, by one dollar each year until the minimum wage reaches $15.00.

 

Georgia

Georgia minimum wage is only $5.15 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. For all businesses, employers, and employees covered by the FLSA, the federal minimum wage applies. 

 

Hawaii

Hawaii minimum wage is $10.10 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. 

However, any employees that earn a guaranteed monthly compensation of $2,000 or more are exempt from minimum wage and overtime requirements. 

 

Idaho

The state of Idaho has no minimum wage, so employers must comply with the minimum wage requirements under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). As of January 1st, 2022 the federal minimum wage is $7.25.

 

Illinois 

Illinois minimum wage is $12.00 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. It will increase by one dollar each year on January 1st, until the minimum wage reaches $15.00.

Employees with four or more employees are covered by the state minimum wage law. This excludes family members. 

 

Indiana

Indiana minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as FLSA standards.

 

Iowa

Iowa minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as FLSA standards.

 

Kansas

Kansas minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as FLSA standards. 

 

Kentucky

Kentucky minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as FLSA standards. 

 

Louisiana

The state of Louisiana has no minimum wage, so employers must comply with the minimum wage requirements under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). As of January 1st, 2022 the federal minimum wage is $7.25.

 

Maine

Maine minimum wage is $12.75 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. 

 

Maryland 

Maryland minimum wage is $12.20 per hour for Maryland small employers as of January 1st, 2022. Maryland small employers are considered employers with fewer than 15 employees. The minimum wage for small employers will increase by 60 cents each year until the minimum wage reaches $15.00.

For employers with at least 15 employees, the minimum wage is $12.50 per hour as of January 1st, 2022, and will increase by 75 cents each year until it reaches $15.00 as well. 

 

Massachusetts

Massachusetts minimum wage is $14.25 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. It will increase to $15.00 per hour on January 1st, 2023. 

 

Michigan

Michigan minimum wage is $9.87 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. As of January 1st, 2023 it will increase again to $10.10 per hour.

Michigan has plans to increase the state minimum wage each year through 2031 until it reaches $12.05 per hour. 

 

Minnesota

Minnesota minimum wage is $8.42 per hour as of January 1st, 2022 for small employers. Minnesota defines a small employer as an employer that generates less than $500,000 in annual gross income. 

Larger employers, those whose gross revenues are $500,000 or more, are subject to a minimum wage of $10.33 as of January 1st, 2022.

 

Mississippi

Mississippi minimum wage is $7.2 per hour, the same as FLSA standards. 

 

Missouri

Missouri minimum wage is $11.15 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. It will increase to $12.00 per hour as of January 1st, 2023. 

Employees of a retail or service business with gross annual sales of less than $500,000 per year are not covered by the state minimum wage and instead are subject to FLSA standards. 

 

Montana 

Montana minimum wage is $9.20 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. Businesses that are not covered by the FLSA with gross annual sales of $110,000 or less are subject to a minimum wage of $4.00 per hour. 

 

Nebraska

Nebraska minimum wage is $9.00 per hour as of January 1st, 2022, for all employers with at least four employees. 

 

Nevada

Nevada minimum wage is $9.75 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. It will increase by 75 cents each year on July 1st until it reaches $12.00 per hour. 

However, for any employees that also receive employee health benefits from their employer, the minimum wage is $8.75 per hour. It will increase by 75 cents each year on July 1st until it reaches $11.00 per hour.

 

New Hampshire

The state of New Hampshire has no minimum wage, so employers must comply with the minimum wage requirements under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). As of January 1st, 2022 the federal minimum wage is $7.25.

 

New Jersey

New Jersey minimum wage is $13.00 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. It will increase each year on January 1st by one dollar until the minimum wage reaches $15.00 per hour. 

For seasonal and small employers, the minimum wage is $11.90 per hour. Seasonal and small employers are considered employers with less than 6 employees. It will also increase each year until it reaches $15.00 per hour in 2026.

 

New Mexico

New Mexico minimum wage is $11.50 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. It will increase to $12.00 per hour on January 1st, 2023.

 

New York State 

New York State minimum wage is $13.20 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. The state also has separate wage standards for different localities. 

For example, the minimum wage for New York City is $15.00 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. 

 

North Carolina

North Carolina minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as FLSA standards.

 

North Dakota

North Dakota minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as FLSA standards.

 

Ohio

Ohio minimum wage is $9.30 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. This applies to all employees working for employers who gross at least $342,000 per year. 

Employees working for employers grossing less than that are subject to a minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. 

 

Oklahoma

Oklahoma minimum wage is $7.25 per hour as of January 1st, 2022 for employers with ten or more full-time employees in one location, or employers that gross over $100,000 per year. 

All other employees are subject to a minimum wage of $2.00, except those covered by FLSA, who are subject to federal minimum wage. 

 

Oregon

Oregon minimum wage is $12.75 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. It will increase to $13.0 per hour on July 1st, 2022.

For Portland businesses specifically, the minimum wage is $14.00 per hour. It will increase to $14.75 per hour on July 1st, 2022 as well. 

For non-urban counties, Oregon minimum wage is $12.00 per hour as of January 1st, 2022.

 

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as FLSA standards.

 

Rhode Island

Rhode Island minimum wage is $12.25 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. It will increase to $13.00 per hour as of January 1st, 2023. 

 

South Carolina

The state of South Carolina has no minimum wage, so employers must comply with the minimum wage requirements under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). As of January 1st, 2022 the federal minimum wage is $7.25.

 

South Dakota 

South Dakota minimum wage is $9.95 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. 

 

Tennessee

The state of Tennessee has no minimum wage, so employers must comply with the minimum wage requirements under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). As of January 1st, 2022 the federal minimum wage is $7.25.

 

Texas

Texas minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as FLSA standards. It only applies, however, to employees not covered by the  FLSA.

 

Utah

Utah minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as FLSA standards. It only applies, however, to employees not covered by the  FLSA.

 

Vermont

Vermont minimum wage is $12.55 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. It applies to employers with two or more employees.

 

Virginia

Virginia minimum wage is $11.00 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. It applies to employers with four or more employees. 

It will increase to $12.00 per hour, as of January 1st, 2023.  

 

Washington

Washington State minimum wage is $14.49 per hour as of January 1st, 2022.

 

West Virginia 

West Virginia minimum wage is $8.75 per hour as of January 1st, 2022 for employers with six or more, non-exempt employees. 

For employers with five non-exempt employees or fewer, the minimum wage is $7.2 per hour as of January 1st, 2022. 

 

Wisconsin 

Wisconsin minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, the same as FLSA standards. 

 

Wyoming

Wyoming minimum wage is $7.25 per hour as of January 1st, 2022 for all employees covered by FLSA standards. Otherwise, the minimum wage is $5.15 per hour. 

 

If you are an employer struggling with minimum wage compliance for your state, a payroll and HR company may be able to help. To see how Payday HCM is already helping countless businesses with minimum wage and FLSA compliance, contact us today. 

HCM Solution

Topics: Insider, HRIS, HCM